Doctoral Student Wins Senator Phil Gramm Doctoral Fellowship Award

Billur Aksoy, a fiffd854852-4b2a-4241-b058-41b8f7aff094th-year behavioral economics doctoral student, won the U.S. Senator Phil Gramm Doctoral Fellowship Award. The award is for $5,000 and funds the research of doctoral candidates. Billur (pictured) was one of eight Texas A&M University doctoral candidates who received the award.

Some requirements for being considered for the Phil Gramm Award include having a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher; as many as two letters of support from faculty members, peers, or past students; a reputation for scholarly behavior; and have taught on at least a one-half time basis for two semesters or summer sessions (10 weeks) during his or her doctoral enrollment at Texas A&M University.

Senator Gramm served as an economics professor at Texas A&M for nearly a decade before being elected in 1979 to the U.S. House of Representatives for Texas’ sixth district, where he served until serving as a U.S. Senator for the state from 1985 – 2002.

Congratulations, Billur!

Portions of this article use language from an article by Steve Kuhlmann. For more information on the award, please see Kuhlmann’s original article below: